Home » About APSTSN » APSTSN Steering Group (2016-2017)*

APSTSN Steering Group (2016-2017)*


Richard latest

Richard Hindmarsh was co-founder of the APSTSN, with Karen Cronin in 2008. He is (Snr.) Associate Professorat Griffith School of Environment, and Centre for Governance and Public Policy, Griffith University, Brisbane, Australia. He has a PhD in STS (Griffith University, awarded 1995), and has also been an academic at the University of Queensland. His research field lies at the intersection of STS and environmental politics, policy, and governance. Also a keen nature and landscape photographer; he has published in numerous journals including Social Studies of Science, Nature, East Asian Science, Technology and Society, Environmental Politics, and Local Environment. Books include The Fukushima Effect: A New Geopolitical Terrain (Routledge Studies in Science, Technology and Society, NY, 2016: co-edited with Rebecca Priestley); Nuclear Disaster at Fukushima Daiichi: Social, Political and Environmental Issues (Routledge Studies in Science, Technology and Society, NY, 2013); Genetic Suspects: Global Governance of Forensic DNA Profiling and Databasing (Cambridge University Press, UK, 2010: co-edited with Barbara Prainsack); and Edging Towards BioUtopia, University of Western Australia Press: 2008).

Richard currently holds two research grants:

  • Rethinking the Public Inquiry on Science, Technology & Environmental Change (Australian Research Council Discovery Scheme) (2017-2019: project DP170101440)
  • Towards More Effective Renewable Energy Transitions in Korea (Australia-Korea Foundation: Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade) (2016-2019: with Partner Investigator, and APSTSN member, Dr Hyomin Kim: Ulsan National Inst. of S&T, Korea)
Ph: +61 7 373 57517
E: r.hindmarsh@griffith.edu.au

Regional representatives (are from the following STS clusters)


Richard latest

Richard Hindmarsh**


Guoyu Wang


Goncalo image

Gonçalo Santos (江紹龍) is Assistant Professor at the Hong Kong Institute for the Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of Hong Kong. Prior to coming to Hong Kong in 2013, he was an LSE Fellow at the London School of Economics and Political Science (2007-2011), and a Senior Research Fellow at the Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology in Halle/Saale (2011-2013).

His research has been published in Current Anthropology, Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute, Modern Asian Studies, and East Asian Science, Technology, and Society. He is the co-editor of Chinese Kinship: Contemporary Anthropological Perspectives (Routledge, 2009), and Transforming Patriarchy: Chinese Families in the 21st Century (University of Washington Press, 2017). He is also the co-editor of a special issue of Modern Asian Studies on ‘Love, Marriage, and Intimate Citizenship in contemporary China and India. (July 2016). His first monograph – The Anthropological School of Coimbra 1885-1950 (Imprensa de Ciências Sociais, 2005) – revisits the history of osteological collections and racial categories in Western Europe and reflects his interdisciplinary training in sociocultural anthropology and STS.

His research has been supported by the Hong Kong Research Grants Council, British Academy, Max Planck Society, American Council of Learned Societies, among other funding bodies. He is a founding member of the Hong Kong Network of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Society.


Jap Tji Beng

Jap Tji Beng is Senior Lecturer at the School of Information Systems, Faculty of Information Technology, Tarumanagara University, Jakarta and Bina Nusantara University Master & Doctorate Program in Information Systems.

He has a PhD in Information Systems from The UNSW Business School, University of New South Wales, Sydney. He is the head of Information Systems and STS (Science, Technology and Society) research group at Tarumanagara University, and the current Director of Research and Community Services, Tarumanagara University, Jakarta. He is also a Member of Association of Information Systems.

Current research interests are Corporate Knowledge Management & Organizational Learning, Cultural Influences in Technology Acceptance, Educational Usage of the Newly Affordances of Digital Technology, Impacts of ICT, Mobile Technology, and Online-Game  to School-age Children, Information Technology in Language & Cognition Assessment and Intervention. He and his research group have won various competitive research grants from Ministry of Research, Technology and Higher Education, Republic of Indonesia. He has research collaboration and network with researchers from various universities.

email:  t.jap@untar.ac.id


Mai Suzuki Japan SG 2016-18

Mai Suzuki is Project Researcher at the Earthquake Research Institute of the University of Tokyo. She received her PhD in cultural anthropology from the University of Tokyo.

Mai’s research interest is in law and science, with a major project being an ethnographical study at the forensic laboratories in New Zealand. She is currently involved in three STS projects, the technological development and people’s understanding of forensic science in Japan; the characteristics of the science of forecasting and its impacts upon the society; and, science education in Nepal.

She is the author of An Ethnography of Forensic Science: Practices in the Forensic Laboratories of New Zealand (2017: Tokyo University Press) and several other publications.

Email: mai.suzuki12@gmail.com



Amy Fletcher is Associate Professor, Department of Political Science and International Relations at The University of Canterbury, and specialises in science, technology and environmental policy.

Prior to taking up a Lecturer position at Canterbury in 2000, she worked in the United States Congress as a legislative assistant on telecommunications and technology issues.  She is an Associate Editor for Politics and Life Sciences Journal (Cambridge University Press) and an expert panel member with TechCast Global (based in Washington, DC).  Her publications include Mendel’s Ark: Biotechnology and the Future of Extinction (Springer, 2014).

She is the lead academic on the recently launched Futures Studies Research Network at Canterbury, which focuses on interdisciplinary research related to anticipatory governance of emerging technologies.  Her current research focuses on the social and policy implications of exponential technological change and the workforce.

Email: amy.fletcher@canterbury.ac.nz



Yi-tze Lee is Assistant Professor at the Department of Ethnic Relations and Cultures, National Dong Hwa University, Taiwan.  He has a PhD of Anthropology, University of Pittsburgh, with the thesis titled “Divided Dreams on Limited Land: Cultural Experiences of Agricultural Bio-energy Project and Organic Farming Transition in Taiwan”.  His major research interests include agricultural and environmental technologies, traditional ecological knowledge of Indigenous people, food ways and terroir, NGOs and natural resource management.  He is currently conducting two research projects: 1) the standardization of fermentation food in Taiwan, and 2) the transition of actor network in indigenous ritual activities regarding the use of wild animals.

Dept. of Ethnic Relations and Cultures, National Dong Hwa University,
No. 1, Sec. 2, Da Hsueh Rd. Shoufeng, Hualien 97401, Taiwan, R.O.C.



*Note 1: The term ‘Steering Committee’ was changed in May 2017 to ‘Steering Group’ to represent an evolving and more appropriate and flexible ‘Network Approach’
**Note 2: Darrin Durant withdrew from the position 15-5-2017 due to personal reasons coupled with existing workload commitments.

Other portfolios

Newsletter editor

Currently Richard Hindmarsh (convenor)

Executive Admin Support

Edward Morgan (PhD)

Research Fellow

Cities Research Institute, Griffith University, Australia



%d bloggers like this: